Hierdie is die LitNet-argief (2006–2012)
Besoek die aktiewe LitNet-platform by www.litnet.co.za

This is the LitNet archive (2006–2012)
Visit the active LitNet platform at www.litnet.co.za

Nuwe skryfwerk | New writing > Skryfsake | Writing matters > Kennisgewings | Notices > 2011 PEN/STUDZINSKI LITERARY AWARDS


Entries invited from 1 March 2010

The South African Centre of International PEN (SA PEN) is pleased to announce the launch of the second in the series of PEN/STUDZINSKI Literary Awards.

Entries for the award for original short stories in English are called for from 1 March 2010 and AFRICAN PENS, a compilation of the short-listed stories, will be published in mid-2011.

Prizes totalling £10 000 will once again be donated by American philanthropist and global investment banker, John Studzinski. The first, second and third prizes will be £5 000, £3 000 and £2 000, respectively.

Nobel Laureate and SA PEN Honorary Member, J.M. Coetzee, will once again select the winning entries.

The 2011 PEN/STUDZINSKI Literary Award aims to encourage creative writing in southern Africa and will offer talented writers an exciting opportunity to launch or develop a literary career. Twelve contributors to our earlier HSBC/SA PEN series have now published their own books, including Ceridwen Dovey who won the 2008 Sunday Times Fiction Prize. Petina Gappah, an early winner, went on to sign a three-book contract with Faber & Faber in the UK and Farrar Strauss & Giroux in the US. Three of the five short-listed stories for the Caine prize for African Writing first appeared in AFRICAN PENS 2007 - the model for AFRICAN PENS 2011. The story POISON, set in a threatened Cape Town, and written by author Henrietta Rose-Innes, was chosen by J.M. Coetzee as the winner of the 2007 HSBC/SA PEN Literary Award and it went on to win the 2008 Caine Prize of £10 000.

Our 2009 project, led by author Shaun Johnson, received over 800 entries from writers throughout Africa, but this year we revert to appealing only to writers living in the fifteen countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC*). The genre is still the short-story, this time between 3 000 and 5 000 words.

SA PEN is pleased to announce that author Margie Orford has agreed to take Shaun's place on the SA PEN executive and that the Editorial Board for the 2011 award will comprise:

• Anthony Fleischer (Chairman), novelist and President of SA PEN
• Dianne Case, popular children's author
• John Gardener, English teacher, retired Head of Kingswood College & Bishops, published numerous articles and Bishops' 150 year history of the school
• Jeremy Lawrence, writer who has worked in journalism and publishing in London and South Africa
• Adré Marshall, retired academic, author of book on Henry James and sundry poems, translator (French/English)
• Peter Merrington, novelist, professor extraordinaire at the University of the Western Cape, ceramicist and motorcyclist
• Margie Orford, writer and sometime journalist
• Anne Schuster, novelist, poet, creative writing facilitator and publisher
• J.M. Coetzee - Nobel Laureate (Final judge)

Writers who are citizens of SADC countries* are encouraged to prepare short stories for submission. Further information and detailed rules of entry will be posted on the SA PEN website, www.sapen.co.za, from the 1 March 2010.

Previous publications featuring the shortlisted and winning stories from the 2005, 2006 and 2007 HSBC/SA PEN, and 2009 PEN/STUDZINSKI Literary Awards are: AFRICAN COMPASS (2005, New Africa Books), AFRICAN ROAD (2006, New Africa Books), AFRICAN PENS (2007, New Africa Books), NEW WRITING FROM AFRICA 2009 (2009, Johnson & KingJames Books).

* SADC countries: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of Congo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.


For media enquiries, contact:
Lesley Lambert
Tel: +27 (0)83 326 2500
Email: [email protected]

For administrative enquiries, contact:
Deborah Horn-Botha, Secretary - SA PEN
Tel: +27 (0)21 701 8510
Email: [email protected]