Hierdie is die LitNet-argief (2006–2012)
Besoek die aktiewe LitNet-platform by www.litnet.co.za

This is the LitNet archive (2006–2012)
Visit the active LitNet platform at www.litnet.co.za

Boeke | Books > Kennisgewings | Notices > English

Exclusive Books IBBY SA Awards shortlist announced


Leading national bookseller Exclusive Books has announced its shortlist of four books for the second Exclusive Books IBBY SA Award, which recognises the best South African children’s book writers and illustrators. The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Monday, 23 November, 2008, at The Vineyard hotel in Cape Town.

The bi-annual Exclusive Books IBBY SA Award is endorsed by the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY), a non-profit organisation which represents an international network of people from all over the world who are committed to bringing books and children together. The Exclusive Books-sponsored award extends equivalent recognition and prize money to both the author and illustrator of the winning book. 

To be considered for the award, both the writer and the illustrator must be South African and the book must be an original work written in any of the official South African languages. The book must also have been published in South Africa. The writer and the illustrator each receive a R5 000 cash prize.

The shortlisted titles for the 2009 Exclusive Books IBBY SA Award are:

  • Else and the Little Thingamanjig – Story by Niki Daly, pictures by Joan Rankin
  • Siyolo’s Jersey – Story by Mari Grobler, pictures by Elizabeth Pulles
  • Liewe land, ’n olifant – Story by Jaco Jacobs, pictures by Maja Sereda
  • Happy Birthday Jamela – Story and pictures by Niki Daly.

Says Colleen Whitfield, Exclusive Books Children’s Book Manager:

The primary objective of the Exclusive Books IBBY SA Awards is to recognise the incredible talent South Africa has and to encourage the local South African authors and illustrators to keep up the international standard of illustrations and stories. This genre of literature has developed beautifully in South Africa and Exclusive Books would like to see it grow even more.

Information about the 2009 award
Exclusive Books invited South African authors, illustrators and publishers to submit eligible titles; 63 books were submitted for the 2008 award.

The awards jury comprises:

  • Johanna de Beer
  • Jay Heale
  • Kathy Madlener
  • Veronica Behm Croucher
  • Annari van der Merwe
  • Nonikwe Mashologu
  • Lona Gericke
  • Prof Genevieve Hart
  • Marianne Serfontein.