Hierdie is die LitNet-argief (2006–2012)
Besoek die aktiewe LitNet-platform by www.litnet.co.za

This is the LitNet archive (2006–2012)
Visit the active LitNet platform at www.litnet.co.za

Opvoeding | Education > Skole | Schools > Kennisgewings | Notices

Winners of the Heinz Junior Chefs of the Year Competition announced




Marlene Breytenbach en Jason Posthumus

The winners of the exciting new Heinz Junior Chefs of the Year competition involving high-school learners from around Tshwane have been announced.

Marlene Breytenbach and Jason Posthumus from Oos Moot were declared overall winners followed by Anastasia Meyer from Hoërskool Garsfontein in second spot and Shede van Rooyen and Candice Paola from Willowbridge High School taking third place.

Rory Pimentel and Candice Harding from Hoërskool Hendrik Verwoerd took top spot in the Spirit category, followed by Sean Cullen and Georgia Abraham of CBC Mount Edmund in second place, and Karlin Nel and Nathan Liversage from Hoërskool Menlopark in third place.

Winners in the starter competition were Marlene Breytenbach and Jason Posthumus from Oos Moot; in the main course category top place went to Shede van Rooyen and Candice Paola from Willowbridge High School, while first place in the dessert category went to Anastasia Meyer from Hoërskool Garsfontein.

Anastasia Meyer was declared the most hygienic chef, followed by Erin Richards and Jocelyn Crous (Sutherland High) with Ruan Wintler and Michelle McDonald (Hoërskool Zwartkop) voted third.

The competition required both nerves-of-steel as well as creativity as 16 teams cooked a three-course meal in the space of four hours. They chose their ingredients from a mystery basket that contained a number of Heinz products including tomato sauce and soups as well as the John West spice range, pouches and salads, salmon and oysters and mussels; Wellington's infamous sweet chili sauce and Today's ready rolled puff pastry.

The winning team received a floating trophy, gold medal and aluminum knife set while there are silver and bronze medals for the runners-up.



Martha Kok, Anastisia Meyer en Marisa Maccaferri

Judges included Theresa Pansegrauw of Best Rock Investments; Maritha Steyn of Steyns Culinary School; Carina Kleynhans of the Tshwane University of Technology; Marisa Maccaferri of Heinz; Maryna Verwey of the High Performance Centre; Tertius Marais of Marais Financial Services; Letitia Prinsloo of the Institute of Culinary Arts in Stellenbosch, Istelle Behrens of Dijon Catering, Juanita Venter of Milac Gold and Eagen Williamson.

A highlight was the sandwich drop to shelters run by the Tshwane Alliance for Street Children. These were made from learners at the participating schools. The bread and sandwich spreads were supplied by Pioneer.